Butler Cup Final Match Report

Moyne Templetuohy     3-03

Sean Treacy’s                    2-04

By Mark Dunne PRO

Three different goal scorers helped Moyne Templetuohy on their way to be crowned the Butler Cup Champions for 2017.

With only three minutes on the clock Jimmy Gleeson opened Moyne Templetuohy’s account with a wonder goal after a superb individual effort ended in a green flag being raised. Further points from Éanna Guilfoyle saw Moyne Templetuohy go in at the break 1-02 to 0-01 up.

Sean Treacy’s fired back into game with a collection of scores. Diarmuid Campion raised another green flag while Éanna Guilfoyle added one more from play to extend their lead. Treacy’s weren’t finished though and it took a late David Doyle goal to seal the victory. Final score Moyne Templetuohy 3-03 Sean Treacy’s 2-04.

A jubilant Éanna Guilfoyle collected the Butler Cup on behalf of his team mates.


Team and scorers:  Patrick Collier, Aaron McLoughlin, Brian Campion, John Shaw, Conor Duffe, Cormac Deegan, Danny Moore, Gavin Ryan, David Doyle (1-00), Éanna Guilfoyle (0-02frees, 0-01), Cathal Guilfoyle, Diarmuid Campion (1-00), Jimmy Gleeson (1-00), Tomás Collier, Conor O’Sullivan. Subs: Liam Ryan, Kian Dunne, Tadhg Fogarty, Bill Brolan, Jake Bowe, Adam Jones, Martin Cleere.

Referee: Patsy Coffey