Club Presentation & Quiz Night 2018

Our Annual Club Presentation Night along with our Annual Quiz took place on Saturday night last December 29th in Everard’s Pub amongst a large crowd.

First up on the night was our Quiz under chief direction of our resident quizmaster Jim O’Meara. Jim kept all our 15 tables well in contention late into the quiz. All 15 teams scored well but it would be down to two teams to fight it out for 1st place. Similar to last year we required a tie breaker to separate the two teams. Neither team will forget Theresa May’s age any day soon! Congratulations to our winning team of Theo Lloyd, Mary Lloyd, Eamonn Doherty and Diarmuid Everard. Well done to Annemarie Maher, Claire Maher, Catherine Maher and Bernie Ryan who finished a close second. Our thanks also to our top three teams who returned their prize money to the club!

Next up after our quiz we turned to our Presentation Night. We had three sets of medals to be distributed amongst many individual awards. First up our successful U21 team collected their Mid Medals from President of the Club, Fr Christy Dwyer. It was noted how close this team were to taking County Honours but that each and every one of them can be extraordinarily proud of their efforts. The team management of Enda Everard, John Sweeney, Dee Fogarty, Pierce Ryan, Morgan Lanigan and Pat Flanagan also received awards for their time and dedication put into this team throughout the year.

Our Junior Footballers were next to take centre stage as they collected their awards from Mid Board Chairman Johnathan Cullen. In his few words Johnathan noted that 2018 had been a very sucessful year for the club and that 2019 promised to be equally as rewarding. Also receiving awards were the management team led by manager Cathal Ely, Coach John Sweeney and Selector Willie Fogarty for their time and commitment throughout the year.

Our last set of medals went to our victorious Intermediate Football Team who claimed County Honours and returned to Senior Football ranks for 2019. Tom Maher, Assistant Secretary of the County Board presented the medals and in his few words thanked the club for the invitation and it was an honour to present the medals. He wished all well for the 2019 season. Their team management also received their medals. Our thanks to Manager Phil Bowe, Coach Denis Kelly and Selector Bill Morrissey for their commitment throughout the year.

Attention now turned to the individual awards and first up were two special presentations, presented to Carmel Butler and Aileen Geehan. Both women have given years of service to the club most notably secretary of the Juvenile Club and in recent years County Board Draw Coordinators. On behalf of the club we would like to sincerely thank both Aileen and Carmel for all they have done for the club.

Carmel Butler accepting a gift for her years of service to the club
Aileen Geehan accepting a gift for her years of service to the club

Our next award went to our Young Player of the Year. This year the award went to Diarmuid Leahy. Diarmuid has excelled this year in both club and college hurling/football and his displays in particular in the U21 County Semi Final and Final proved his worthiness to receive this award. Congratulations Diarmuid!

Diarmuid Leahy Young Player of the Year 2018

Next up was our Senior Player of the year award for 2018. This years winner was Jason Bergin. Jason has really come to his own in both hurling and football this year giving some outstanding displays with the big ball throughout the year. His towering performance in the County Intermediate Football Final saw him deservadly receive this prestigious award. Comhgairdeas Jason!

Jason Bergin Senior Player of the Year 2018

Our final award of the night was the Club Person of the Year award. This years award deservedly went to John Hassett. John’s assistance both on and off the field this year was much appreciated by the club. John was instrumental in the upgrading of our lights in Templetuohy while on the field had a fantastic year picking up Man of the Match in this years County Intermediate Football Final. Well done John!

Club Person of the Year 2018 – John Hassett

Our Presentation Night saw the last action for the 2018 season. A sincere thanks must go to all those who assisted on the night but most notable Billy Loughnane for the wonderful photos.

On my own behalf and on behalf of the Moyne Templetuohy GAA Club we wish all our members a happy and peaceful 2019 and we look forward to working with you throughout 2019.

Mark Dunne PRO