Match Report: ‘Camida’ Tipperary Ladies Football Junior B Final

Moyne Templetuohy     1-15

Holycross/Rapparees    3-04

By Mark Dunne

Moyne Templetuohy claimed their first Junior B Football title in their history and their second since their 2006 Junior C County title win on Saturday evening last where they recorded a 1-15 to 3-04 win over Holycross/Rapparees.

Captain Louise Butler with Referee Johnny Murphy and Holycross Rapparees Captain Noreen Treacy. Picture thanks to Billy Loughnane

New Inn played host to this encounter and although the weather may not have been favourable both teams can be commended for the ferocity in which they played.

Niamh Ryan was first to the find her kicking range after Holycross full back Maria Whelan fumbled the ball in the slippery conditions. Niamh Ryan duly picked up the spill to send the green and gold a point to the good inside the opening minute of play. Player of the Match Roisín Daly was next to get in on the action when she kicked a monster free from over 30m out to double their lead. Moyne Templetuohy began to play with a swagger and Elaine Ryan nearly added to it only for her shot to drift right and wide. The aforementioned Elaine Ryan made no mistake two minutes later when she found herself on the end of an Aoife Shelly pass across the square to palm the ball into the Holycross Rapparees net. 1-02 to 0-00. Holycross’ first real promising attack of the game saw Rachel Quinlan solo well over 50 yards only for her shot to get caught in the wind and go right and wide. Trisha Hassett added a good score shortly afterwards following good work from Aoife Shelly and Niamh Ryan. 1-03 to 0-00, Moyne’s confidence in the ascendency! Holycross worked hard to close the spaces but quick hands and forward thinking allowed an amalgamation of Niamh Ryan and Roisin Daly to team up with the latter getting the next score. 1-04 to 0-00. Moyne Templetuohy were working well and breaking quick on the counter attacks. The next phase of play a key example of this. Holycross fumbled the ball in the half back line, Niamh Ryan picked it up found Trish Hassett who placed a superb ball to Ciara Gorman who pointed for a good score. With the Moyne Templetuohy forwards playing well, the backs equalled this with Louise Butler, Muireann Lloyd and Cathy Hogan defending well to keep Holycross at bay. Roisín Daly added one more before Holycross got their first score on the board with a Lilly Maher free in the 15th minute. This really spurred on the Rapparees with Lilly Maher getting her second shortly afterwards. Holycross could have had a goal to their name only for the timely intervention of Louise Butler. If Holycross got close that time, they got closer the next, a powering run from Elaine Brennan saw her unleash a rasping shot which was touched over Josephine Larkins goal. However, Holycross got their goal in the 20th minute. A high free in was spilled in the Moyne Templetuohy square with Elaine Brennan getting the devastating touch to narrow the gap to four 1-06 to 1-02. Lily Maher added one more under pressure from Butler to leave only three points idir na Foirne. Moyne Templetuohy returned to the game and a strong run from Trish Hassett saw her score a beauty of her left to extend the gap. Roisin Daly could have raised another green flag in the last minute of the half only for Rachel Sweeney to pull of a good save. Roisín worked hard to get the ball following the save and scored to leave the half time score Moyne Templetuohy 1-08 Holycross Rapparees 1-04.

With only four points between the sides this game was firmly in the melting pot. The second half began in horrid conditions. Holycross had the first two shots of the half with Gretta Ryan and Noreen Treacy all getting close but to no white flag. Roisín Daly found her kicking boots once again; an outstanding ball from Trish Hassett found Niamh Ryan who passed to the oncoming Daly. 1-09 to 1-04. Roisín added one more shortly afterwards to extend their lead. Tipperary Intermediate footballer Muireann Lloyd pulled of a super catch as a long Holycross free entered the danger zone. Both teams were working hard, and the game was end to end. Roisín added another placed ball before Trish Hassett kicked a free off her left 1-12 to 1-04. Disaster for Moyne Templetuohy in the 42nd minute, Lily Maher scored a super goal to the top corner of the net to reduce the deficit to five. Then disaster arís, Louise Butler and Cathy Hogan both went for a ball only to collide full on with the latter coming out the worst and in need of a substitution. Niamh Dunne who came on during the first half was playing well with some dangerous runs resulting in a score of her own, took well of her right. Holycross nearly netted their third when another high greasy ball slipped through the hands of Larkin with the oncoming Jodie Maher kicking her shot across the goal and wide. Moyne Templetuohy could have added their second goal but settled with a point when a promising attack included Mairead Eviston and Roisín Daly with Daly taking her score, only to have Trish Hassett all alone inside. Daly kicked another free to extend the score 1-15 to 2-04, injury time upon us. Jodie Maher of Holycross was really looking for a goal and she got it with the last few kicks of the game. A darting run saw her shoot to the top corner 1-15 to 3-04. Referee Johnny Murphy blew the full time whistle shortly afterwards to scenes of jubilation as Moyne Templetuohy added their first County Junior B title to their collection and only their second County title ever, their last in 2006.

Player of the match Roisín Daly was outstanding with Captain Louise Butler leading by example from the back. Niamh Ryan, Aoife Shelly, Niamh Dunne, Trish Hassett and Ciara Gorman all played well to mention but a few. A delighted Louise Butler accepted the Vinnie Kennedy Cup on behalf of her teammates. In her speech she thanked the management team, fellow players and supporters for making today possible. She also noted the role of previous managements in todays success. Well done girls! Enjoy the celebrations.

Team and scorers: Josephine Larkin, Laura Daly, Muireann Lloyd, Marie Bourke, Brona Bergin, Louise Butler (Captain), Cathy Hogan, Ciara Gorman (0-01), Roisín Daly (0-06 play, 0-03 frees), Jayne Dunne, Niamh Ryan (0-01), Aoife Shelly, Elaine Ryan (1-00), Trish Hassett (0-02 play, 0-01 free), Niamh Butler. Subs used: Niamh Dunne (0-01) for Jayne Dunne, Ellen Moore for Cathy Hogan, Mairead Eviston for Aoife Shelly.

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Cahir)