Match Report: Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Junior B Football Championship Final

Mid Junior Football Winners

Jim and Anne Kennedy Mid Junior B Football Championship Final

Moyne Templetuohy     1-09

JK Brackens                        0-02

By Mark Dunne PRO      

Moyne Templetuohy retained the Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Championship for the second year running following a comprehensive 1-09 to 0-02 victory over neighbours JK Brackens played in a wet and damp Templetuohy on Friday evening last.

Not a game for the record books in terms of excitement but both teams worked hard in slippery underfoot conditions which saw seven of the twelve scores coming from placed balls with both teams loosing personal to red cards in either half.

Moyne Templetuohy began with an intent to regain the Jim and Anne Kennedy when captain Sean Maloney’s opening attack saw him fouled with Odhran Lloyd pointing the resultant free. Brackens responded with an attack of their own, only for their free to drift right and wide. Moyne Templetuohy attacked again and Odhran Lloyd pointed again fouling a high challenge on Moyne Templetuohy’s Sean Hayes. Both teams had chances to score but the wet conditions underfoot made shooting and tackling difficult. The 23rd minute saw disaster for Moyne Templetuohy with Ben Ryan receiving his marching orders following an altercation at the old dressing room side. JK Brackens spurred on by their extra man saw David Ryan form an attack only for the final ball to be spilled. 0-03 to 0-00 the score remained. Moyne Templetuohy got the last three scores of the half. Odhran Lloyd pointed a 21m free before Sean Hayes pointed from close range to put 5 between the sides. Moyne Templetuohy’s running game caused JK Brackens problems and the final score of the half came from Odhran Lloyd with a good score in front of the JK Bracken goal. 0-06 to 0-00 the half time score.

A man up and after playing with the wind in the first JK Brackens needed a good start to the second half and it nearly came when Kevin Fitzpatrick shot for goal only to see his shot ricochet of his own Brian Roche and for Pat Meade in the Moyne Templetuohy net to pull off a fine save. Odhran Lloyd added two further frees to stretch the lead to eight. Although they were unable to convert on the scoreboard JK Brackens but worked tirelessly. Stephen Owens nearly raised Brackens first score when a high ball in was fumbled and nearly ended up in the Moyne Templetuohy net. The resultant counter attack saw Odhran Lloyd score to add one more to his ticket. Kevin Fitzpatrick saw black in the 52nd minute before JK Brackens Paddy Delaney added their first score much to the delight of the JK Brackens supporters. At this point tensions were high and in the 58th minute a melee broke out with unsavoury viewing for those in attendance. Following consultation with his umpires, referee John Lillis gave JK Brackens Philip Ryan a straight red card to end his interest in the game. Michael Lynagh pointed a free shortly afterwards before Moyne Templetuohy’s Brian Fanning got the games only goal when Mark Ryan’s shot bounced off the post and Fanning was quickest to reach sliding in to get his name on the score sheet. 1-09 to 0-02 it ended at the final whistle just as the rain began to fall.

Mid Board Chairman Johnathan Cullen presented the Mid Tipperary Junior B Football Trophy to Moyne Templetuohy Captain Sean Maloney. A historic day for the Maloney family with Sean following his brother James in captaining the Junior Footballers to Mid Glory. Will Tom follow suit next year to give it a clean sweep? That’s the question!

Moyne Templetuohy will be happy with the manner of the win despite going down to 14 men early in the game. Liam Butler, David Lowe and Eoin Gorman worked hard in defence with Odhran Lloyd’s free taking coupled with the work rate of Sean Hayes, Damien Cantwell and Barry Ryan in attack. The importance of getting back to playing football with important games in Senior and Junior grades to follow will be a bonus!

Moyne Templetuohy: Pat Meade, Paudie Gleeson, David Lowe, James Maloney, Eoin Gorman, Liam Butler, Shane Lowe, Niall Russell, Kieran Larkin, Sean Hayes (0-01), Sean Maloney (Captain), Damien Cantwell, Ben Ryan, Odhran Lloyd (0-06 frees, 0-02 play) and Barry Ryan. Subs used: Brian Fanning (1-00), for Shane Lowe, Mark Ryan for Barry Ryan, Denis Kelly for Sean Hayes, Tom Maloney for Damien Cantwell, Lee Tierney for Niall Russell.

Referee: John Lillis (Thurles Sarsfields)

Captain Sean Maloney receiving the Mid Junior B Football Trophy from Johnathan Cullen and Sally Young