Match Report Minor Hurling Final 09/09/17

Moyne Templetuohy/Thurles Gaels 2-16
Drom-Inch 0-15
By Mark Dunne PRO

As the saying goes, ‘goals win matches’ and today it was no different. Two second half goals first from the stick of Michael Mulcaire followed by Dean Lawlor saw Moyne Templetuohy/Thurles Gaels complete the double winning this years Mid Tipperary Minor B Hurling Championship.

Playing against a stiff breeze in the first half, Drom Inch played all the hurling racing in to an 0-05 to 0-02 lead after 10 mins. The superb accuracy of Man of the Match Gearoid O’Connor kept Moyne Templetuohy/Thurles Gaels in the game. The long high ball always looked threatening but the safe and secure hands of Conor Bowe, Ciaran Lloyd and Kieran Larkin kept Drom/Inch at bay. Indiscipline towards the end of the half, saw the opposition tag on crucial scores to leave three between the teams at the break 0-08 to 0-05.

A revitalised Moyne Templetuohy Thurles Gaels team took the field for the second half. Within 5 mins the team were level, Conor Bowe and Gearoid O’Connor (2 points) firing our lads right back into the action. Then the first of the goals. A long ball into the square broke kindly for Michael Mulcaire who slotted home to leave the scores 1-08 to 0-08 after 36mins. Drom however responded. Playing against the breeze they ran the ball cleverly up the field and won three frees on the trot to level the sides once again. However, Gearoid O’Connor tapped over the next two placed balls with Dean Lawlor adding another to widen the gap to three. The long ball had been causing Drom/Inch problems and Dean Lawlor gave them further headaches when a high ball wasn’t dealt with and he cleverly punished to the net to leave the score reading 2-11 to 0-11 with 8mins to go. As the game concluded the scores flowed from both sides with some top class points on display. The pick of the lot from Conor Bowe from inside his own half. The final scenes gave way to scenes of celebration and joy as Moyne Templetuohy Thurles Gaels completed Minor B double in style.

A man of the match display from Gearoid O’Connor coupled with the hard working Conor Bowe, Michael Mulcaire, Ciaran Llyod and Shane Lowe to mention a few, saw a deserving Moyne Templetuohy Thurles Gaels crowned Mid Champions for 2017. A sincere thanks to the hard working management team for making this possible, well done all.

Team and scorers: Martin Reilly, Paudie Gleeson, Kieran Larkin, Darragh Taylor, Ciaran Llyod, Conor Bowe (0-02), Shane Lowe, Sean Hayes, Jack Taylor, Chris Munroe, Gearoid O’Connor (0-08 frees, 0-01 65m, 0-03), Dean Lawlor (1-00), Michael Mulcaire (1-02), Shane Ryan, Ben Ryan. Subs Used: Dylan Shaughnessy for Darragh Taylor, Bill Hogan for Ben Ryan, Dylan Molumby for Micheal Mulcaire.

Tom Loughnane (Gortnahoe Glengoole)